In an effort to increase the scale of our impact, enhance connectivity, and strengthen coordination and integration across sectors, we have identified 7 priority landscapes (6 transboundary and 1 national).


© WWF / James Morgan

Tri National Dja-Odzala-Mikebe (TRIDOM)

TRIDOM is the Dja-Minkebe-Odzala Tri-national forest landscape spanning Cameroon, Gabon, and the Republic of Congo. The landscape which makes up a core part of the Congo Basin Rainforest faces competing interests between conservation and development including: road and rail development, agricultural production, mining and wood exploitation, climate change mitigation and access to natural resources by local peoples.Read more about about WWF work across the TRIDOM Landscape.

Tridom Gabon Landscape
Jengi Tridom
Tridom Congo Landscape

Tridom Gabon Landscape

© Andy Isaacson / WWF-US

Sangha Trinational (TNS)

Sangha Trinational (TNS) is a transboundary conservation landscape in the north-western Congo Basin where Cameroon, the Central African Republic, and the Republic of Congo meet. TNS includes three contiguous national parks totaling around 750,000 hectares (ha). Much of the landscape is unaffected by human activity and features a wide range of humid tropical forest ecosystems with rich flora and fauna, including Nile crocodiles and goliath tigerfish, a large predator. Forest clearings support herbaceous species. Sangha is home to considerable populations of forest elephants, the critically endangered western lowland gorilla, and endangered chimpanzees. It is rich in biodiversity. In 2012, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) named Dzanga-Sangha and the surrounding TNS area a World Heritage site, noting its role in “the continuation of ecological and evolutionary processes on a huge scale.”

© Will Burrard-Lucas / WWF-US

Kavango-Zambezi (KAZA)

For over two decades, WWF has collaborated with governments, local communities, and environmental organizations across 5 Southern African nations to help establish and advance a large-scale, land-based conservation project: the Kavango- Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area (KAZA TFCA, or KAZA for short). The landscape currently included under the KAZA Treaty covers contiguous parts of Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. KAZA is the world’s largest TFCA, roughly the size of France or the size of Zimbabwe and Malawi combined. Vibrant, diverse communities of around 2.7 million people reside within its boundaries, mostly concentrated along the Okavango and Zambezi Rivers.


© / Andy Rouse / WWF

Greater Virunga Landscapes (GVL)

This rich landscape in Central Africa, is home to the world’s last two remaining populations of mountain gorillas. This is one of the most biologically diverse parts of the planet. Its combination of ancient tropical forests, ice capped mountains, active volcanoes, savannah, swamps, and wetlands is home to elephants, hippos, unique birds, and rare plants. But Virunga-Bwindi’s most famous residents are its critically endangered mountain gorillas.  Found at the point where East Africa meets Central Africa, the Greater Virunga Landscape is a spectacular mosaic of wildly diverse landscapes from steamy papyrus swamps to permanent glaciers and from savannahs and forests to active volcanoes. The Virunga-Bwindi landscape is spread across the borders of three countries in central Africa: Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Uganda and Rwanda. 

Running down the borders of three countries, the VirungaBwindi landscapes range from dense, lush forests to dry savannahs, volcanic lava plains and snow-capped mountains. Virunga-Bwindi is the only place in the world where you’ll find the critically endangered mountain gorilla – divided into groups almost equally between the Virunga mountains and Bwindi Impenetrable National Park.

WWF successfully campaigned to protect Virunga National Park from the threat of oil exploration. More than 765,000 people from around the world signed our petition to protect the park from oil exploration

© WWF-US / James Morgan

South West Indian Ocean Seascape (SWIO)

The SWIO seascape combines large marine and coastal ecosystems which support 60 million people living in the coastal belt shared by Madagascar, Mozambique, South Africa, Tanzania, and Kenya. It supports the world’s largest sustainable tuna fisheries, 38 per cent of the world’s coral reefs, five of the world’s seven marine turtles and 5 per cent of the world’s mangroves1. This seascape’s economic output is estimated at US$ 20.8 billion annually, the equivalent of the fourth largest economy in the region.

WWF is striving to achieve sustainable fishing in this seascape, which is home to around one fifth of the world’s total tuna production. It is the second largest tuna fishing region in the world

WWF is working to protect mangroves in places like Madagascar. Mangroves can store 3 to 5 times more carbon than terrestrial forests. They are vital in combating climate change 

WWF endeavors to protect coral reefs facing unprecedented environmental pressures as they are particularly sensitive to climate change and extremes in temperature

© WWF / Martin HARVEY

Southern Kenya Northern Tanzania (SOKNOT)

SOKNOT is a WWF transboundary conservation programme along the Southern Kenya-Northern Tanzania (SOKNOT) landscape which spans 134,000 km². The programme involves an integrated landscape approach which seeks to contribute to the Kenya and Tanzania government efforts to implement their respective wildlife corridor and dispersal area strategies while ensuring that the livelihoods and well-being of people living within those wildlife areas are enhanced. The SOKNOT transboundary conservation area broadly covers the following three ecosystems: Mara-Serengeti; Amboseli-West Kilimanjaro and Tsavo-Mkomazi and the areas that connect them.

SOKNOT In Tanzania

© Sylvain Deloy

Salonga National Park (DRC)

Salonga National Park spans an area of 33,350km2, which makes it the largest forest national park in Africa and the third largest tropical forest park in the world.WWF has been working in Salonga since 2005, supporting the Congolese park authority ICCN (Institut Congolais pour la Conservation de la Nature) in managing the park and engaging with local communities to identify and develop alternative livelihoods opportunities.